## Mary Ellen and Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing

The WKU Department of English invites writers to the annual <u>Mary Ellen and Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing</u> to judge a writing contest, lead a workshop for the finalists, and give a reading of their work. What follows is a list of the featured writers of each event.

Year	Featured Writers
1997	Wendell Berry
1998	Day 1: Ed McClanahan Day 2: Pat Carr Day 3: Warren Hammack (reading Jim Wayne Miller's poetry)
1999	Bobbie Ann Mason
2000	Jean Ritchie
2001	Robert Morgan
2002	Silas House
2003	Dr. Frank Steele and Peggy Steele
2004	Drs. Tom Hunley, Nancy Roberts, Dale Rigby, & Jane Olmsted
2005	Sallie Bingham
2006	Pat Carr
2007	Dr. Pat Taylor and Dr. Craig Taylor (reading Jim Wayne Miller's poetry)
2008	Robert Morgan



## Mary Ellen and Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing

2009	Vivian Shipley
2010	Sharyn McCrumb
2011	Frederick Smock
2012	Ed McClanahan
2013	Silas House
2014	Prof. Mary Ellen Miller and Dr. Morris Allen Grubbs; accompanying the publication of <i>Every Leaf a Mirror: A Jim Wayne Miller Reader</i>
2015	Sallie Bingham
2016	Frederick Smock
2017	Silas House
2018	Celebrating the life and work of Mary Ellen Miller; readings of her poetry and of poetry and tributes written about her
2019	Katy Yocom
2020	Joy Priest
2021	Amy Wright

