

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA

February 8, 2019

Jody Richards Hall Cornelius A. Martin Regents Room

Mr. Jason L. McKinney, Chair Mr. David S. Brinkley

Dr. Claus Ernst Mr. Stephen Mayer

Action Item:

AA-1 Approval of Sabbatical Leave Requests [pp 1-2]

Information Item:

• Comprehensive Academic Program Evaluation (CAPE) Update (*Provost Ballman*)

SABBATICAL LEAVES

REQUEST:

Approval of sabbatical leaves for faculty listed below.

FACTS:

Listed below are faculty members who have been recommended for sabbatical leave by the department head, College Sabbatical Advisory Committee, college dean, the Provost and President. They have served the university for at least six continuous full academic years, hold the rank of assistant professor or above, and have submitted a compelling sabbatical application for the purpose of professional academic enrichment.

College of Health and Human Services

<u>Name</u>	<u>Department</u>	Period of Leave
Dr. Amy Cappiccie	Social Work	Fall 2019
Dr. Gayle Mallinger	Social Work	Spring 2020

Gordon Ford College of Business

<u>Name</u>	<u>Department</u>	Period of Leave
Dr. Jeffrey Katz	Management	Fall 2019
Dr. Brian Strow	Economics	Spring 2020

Ogden College of Science and Engineering

<u>Name</u>	<u>Department</u>	Period of Leave
Dr. Tilak Bhattacharya	Mathematics	Spring 2020
Dr. David Keeling	Geography & Geology	Spring 2020
Dr. Zhonghang Xia	Engineering & Applied	Spring 2020
	Sciences	

Potter College of Arts and Letters

Name	<u>Department</u>	Period of Leave
Dr. Kristi Branham	English	Fall 2019
Dr. Molly Kerby	Diversity & Community	Spring 2020
	Studies	
Dr. Audra Jennings	History	Fall 2019
Dr. Alex Olson	History	Fall 2019
Dr. Marco Dumancic	History	Spring 2020
Ms. Amanda Clark	Theatre & Dance	Fall 2019
Dr. Isabel Mukonyora	Philosophy & Religion	Fall 2019
Dr. Elizabeth Gish	Philosophy & Religion	Spring 2020
Dr. Liza Kelley	Music	Fall 2019

BUDGETARY IMPLICATIONS:

No additional resources are necessary to accommodate the sabbatical leaves. Courses usually taught by these faculty have been reassigned to other faculty members by each respective department head.

RECOMMENDATION:

President Timothy C. Caboni recommends awarding the above individuals sabbatical leave for the terms indicated.

MOTION: Approval of faculty sabbatical leaves for the above recommended individuals.